Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

help please

Old 05-20-07, 12:05 PM

Bikes: Still shopping...

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
help please

i am a newbie-posting here bits of what i just posted on the cyclocross fourm:

i am 230 lbs, 5'11" and will ride roads mostly
may hit the shoulder or a dirt road or 2, or some rails-to-trail or light gravel
worried about bike selection
have not ridden in 25 years
drop vs straight bars?
drop offer me more options over time for hand position
tire size-is fatter better for me, more forgiving, better on multiple surfaces?
looked at trek fx and pilots, and at specialize sirrus, sequoia elite, and now tricross
i like the tricross comp triple
is it too much bike for a beginner?
what shouid i do?
lbs has a tricross expert i could try
and one of each of the others mentioned but not the tricross sport or comp to test ride
help!!!

seems my thread is similar to one by rickyaustin on cyclocross forum
sorry about that
but i love these forums
good to have a place to get help and advice
seesm bikers, like archers, want to help each other...
glad to be here
any ideas about what bike i should get?
lbs is big on specialized, and some trek
if i drive further i could get jamis or cannondale or giant
ideas???
Old 05-20-07, 12:14 PM
Out fishing with Annie on his lap, a cigar in one hand and a ginger ale in the other, watching the sunset.

Bikes: Techna Wheelchair and a Sun EZ 3 Recumbent Trike

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 22 Times in 17 Posts