Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

CHROME VS. TIMBUK2 - a review

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

CHROME VS. TIMBUK2 - a review

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-05, 06:43 PM
occam's razor

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I actually wrote this to post in a different forum. But I figgured I'd stick it in here too. I'm not very good at reviewing stuff, and I'm not a messenger or anything... But i took lots of pictures! that's worth something, i think.

CHROME VS. TIMBUK2

I recently acquired the Chrome metropolis," the second largest (or third smallest) messenger bag on chrome's messenger bag production line. Having previously owned a chrome product (medium size), I must first and foremost admit that I am partial to their design, company, and am/have been a satisfied end line user.

However, due to some confusion and curiousity, I acquired a timbuk2 pro messenger series, large.

both timbuk2 and chrome are well respected messenger bag manufacturers, and since both are about within the same price range, there's some debate as to which is superior. i don't intend to keep the timbuk2 bag (merely cause i've already been using my chrome, and it seems frivolous to have two similarly sized messenger bags), but it seems logical that while i've got them both i should compare for a future consumer's benefit.

MANUFACTURER'S SPEC

www.chromebags.com
"chrome metropolis"
Dimensions: 26 x 14 x 7 (flat dimensions)
Volume: 2000 cu. in.
$120.00 ordered direct from chromebags.com

www.timbuk2.com
timbuk2 pro messenger series, L
Dimensions: 16.5"x12.75"x 8.5"
Volume: 2149 cu. in.