Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Value of late 60's Kabuki

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Value of late 60's Kabuki

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-05, 04:14 PM

Bikes: 2004 Specialized Allez Triple

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
In about 1969 my dad got a new Bridgestone Kabuki submariner. He rode it for many years, stopped around the time I was born, and in the last few years I started riding it now and then. I am little unsure of the frame material. Its a lugged steel frame, and up until recently I thought the top tube, down tube and seat angle were stainless steel and the rest was just (for lack and the correct termanology) non-stainless steel. However recently a bicycle mechanic told me the top tube, down tube and seat angle where aluminum and the rest was stainless steel (he came to this conclusion cause his magnet would not stick to these areas). In any event the frame is labeled stainless steel and I know some part of it is.
Just this week I had the entire bike overhauled (everything cleaned, new cables, new brake pads new bearings, everything adjusted, e.t.c). Everything on the bike is original including the paint job (suntour derailers, dia-compe brakes, 36 spoked wheels, suntour shifters on the handlebar stem, and thats all I remember right now). It is in excellent condition and rides just as good, if not better then my new road bike
Anyway, I was just curious on what the value on something like this would be. Im not planning on selling it anytime soon, and I am still riding it rather reguarly (gearing up for a few overnighters when the weather gets a bit nicer). Thx guys, I appreciate it.
Old 02-26-05, 05:43 PM
Chronic Tai Shan

Bikes: Pake Single Speed

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts