Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

Super Clyde Needs Advice....

Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-07, 06:43 PM
Larger than normal Noob

Bikes: A couple Specialized pieces of equipment.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello Community,

I am extremely new to MTB and would like to start with a thank you to anyone who responds.

Ok here is my story:

I am currently 314lbs (Down from 360lbs in January) and just started using a MTB as a form of exercise to supplement my weight training. After long hours of studying up on MTBs I ended up buying a 2007 Specialized Hardrock Sport. I love my bike and started riding the day I purchased it. From trail riding 2 miles the first and second days of ownership and four to five miles on the fifth and sixth days of ownership. BUT...On the seventh day of riding, I went on a "roadtrip" and cycled down to the beach 5.1 miles away from home. This amounts to a round trip total of 10.2 with an average speed of nine miles per hour. Yeah I know I'm a newbie but the problem is........ it is wednesday and my back side is still killing me!! Where did I go wrong? The body geometry saddle that was supplied with the rig is nice, but three days of bottom troubles? Come on give me a break, lol.