Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > "The 33"-Road Bike Racing
Reload this Page >

First Crit, First Big Crash

Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Old 03-27-07, 09:57 PM

Bikes: Trek 1500

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I want to say hello to the racing section.
To start off, I am new to cycling. I come from a background of Road and trail running. I've tried team sports but they do not suit me well. I got my first road bike less than a month ago because I get bored with running only and I need a competative outlet.
During the warm months there is a local industrial park crit so I decided to give it a try. The format is 45 minutes plus 2 with no class breakup. The course is a basic square with 4 right hand turns. I arrived later than I planned so I didn't warm up like I should have. As I was riding out of the parking lot I noticed a curb I didn't want to ride down so I tried to pull my feet out of the pedals (not clipless yet), and tipped over. No problem, just stupid.
I pulled up to the line as they were lining up. Rules are stated and the race starts.
First lap was really slow, I was on the back on the inside. Second lap sees the pace pick up and I moved closer to 2/3rds of the way back in the pack. 3rd lap is more of the same, but I was moving towards the outside as the inside was freaking me out a bit. By the time lap 4 rolls around the pace has really picked up and I was on the very outside and in the back. As I roll into turn 4 I realize it is far and away the sharpest on the course and I was not at all leaning over far enough. I watched the curb loom closer, and then I was on my side in the grass.