Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Number of links in chain

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Number of links in chain

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-07, 11:23 PM

Bikes: Trek 1000, two mtbs and working on a fixie for commuting.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Number of links in chain

Anyone know the "correct" number of links in a triple 8s mtb? I ran across an 8s mtb with 106 links and it didn't work right so I slapped on a chain with 110+ links and it worked fine. I'm not a pro bike mech, but I worked on it and finally came to the conclusion that the chain was too short. Should I tell my roommate to take the bike back to the shop since they messed up? (Its his bike and its pretty new.)

Thanks.
Old 02-02-07, 11:38 PM

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you need enough links to go over the big chainring, and the big cog at the same time.
Old 02-03-07, 02:58 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by FlatFender
you need enough links to go over the big chainring, and the big cog at the same time.
Plus two links.
Old 02-03-07, 07:27 AM
JRA...

Bikes: trek 520 & 736, DeRosa Professional, Fuji Professional, Raleigh International 3-speed, Saronni (any info people?), Humber 3-speed, Raleigh Sports, Carlton Grand Prix coming soon!

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by z415