Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Clyde-sized bibs?

Old 11-28-06, 07:47 PM
HEY! I'm talkin' to YOU!

Bikes: Trek 7.5/FX 2006, 1980's Specialized Allez

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Clyde-sized bibs?

I am new to bike clothes, and 5' 11'' but well over 200 lbs, so I have a waist-size issue with most cycling clothes. I have a pair of XXL bike shorts (PI) that fit great, though I have some waistband rollover. I keep reading about the advantages & comfort of bibs. The trouble is, I don't want to cough up $150 (gulp!) for something that fits my waist, but has droopy straps. Is sizing too hard to permit internet shopping? I invite your constructive comments. I can't be alone in this.
Old 11-28-06, 07:50 PM
Dolce far niente

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 13 Posts
I'm 5'11" and 230lbs. I get my bibs from Velowear.com, size XL.

They fit great, cost less than $50, and they have a no hassle/no cost return policy. If it doesn't fit, send it back in the postage paid envelope they provide.

S. J. Perelman
Old 11-28-06, 08:42 PM

Bikes: Pedal Force QS3

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Performance has good prices also. I'm 5'8, 240 and I buy large bibs...otherwise they are way too long.
Old 11-28-06, 08:53 PM
HEY! I'm talkin' to YOU!

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So, the key factor in fitting is the strap length? Is the waist size is pretty stretchy? Would sizes L, XL, XXL all fit the range of 40-44" waists?
Old 11-28-06, 10:33 PM
Out fishing with Annie on his lap, a cigar in one hand and a ginger ale in the other, watching the sunset.

Bikes: Techna Wheelchair and a Sun EZ 3 Recumbent Trike