Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Athena's Hangout

Old 10-01-06, 12:05 PM
One cool chick

Bikes: Trek 820

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Athena's Hangout

Hey Athenas! I would like to get us a thread going just for us plus-size (fluffy, voluptuous, Rubenesque or whatever) gals who are interested in chatting about biking, fitness, weight loss, and anything else that pops into our wonderful female minds! Basically a support thread for us to gather and not worry about offending the men if we happen to be PMS'ing that day!

I'll be the first to admit that I'm relatively new to biking...all I know is that I ride and I love it! But, I'm always up for chatting about anything and getting to know a few more friends around here!

I thought a little questionnaire would be helpful in getting to know each other and find out our specific goals and such.

Name: Rebecca
Marital Status: Married, to Magoolc1!
Height/weight: 5'3" (on a tall day!)/313 lbs
What bike do you currently ride: Trek 820 mountain bike with some modifications.
How long have you been riding?: I used to ride all the time when I was a kid, but before we bought our bikes last year, I hadn't been on a bike in probably 15 years! We've been riding for about a year now.
Are you currently trying to lose weight, and how are you going about it?: I joined Weight Watchers on 8/28, and have lost 11.8 lbs so far. I'm doing a combination of biking, and exercise DVD's (Leslie Sansone's Walk Away the Pounds and Walk and Kick walking/kickboxing combo).