Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Home Brew Lights: Need comments on mounting choices! Pics in thread!

Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Old 08-30-06, 06:07 PM
Unique Vintage Steel

Bikes: Kirk Frameworks JKS-C, Serotta Nova, Gazelle AB-Frame, Fuji Team Issue, Surly Straggler

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked 225 Times in 56 Posts

Ok folks, today a nice happy box arrived for me from Nashbar. Along with two new bottle mounts for the Schwinn commuter, it also included the Minoura 'SwingGrip' which I plan to mount my Optronics MR16 lights on. I started playing with the housings after getting the swing grip mounted on the stem and came up with 4 variations of housing positions to choose from...

First up: Lights mounted under the T bar.

Second choice: Lights mounted on front of T bar - housings hanging down.

Old 08-30-06, 06:09 PM
Unique Vintage Steel

Bikes: Kirk Frameworks JKS-C, Serotta Nova, Gazelle AB-Frame, Fuji Team Issue, Surly Straggler

Thrid choice: Lights mounted on front of T bar - housings on top.

And lastly: Lights mounted on the top of the T bar.

I'm leaning towards #2 or #3. Maybe on an angle between #1/2?
Old 08-30-06, 06:29 PM
\,,/(^_^)\,,/

Bikes: Surly 1x1 Xtracycle, '01 Haro Flair Dave Mirra

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i like choice 2
Old 08-30-06, 07:14 PM
52-week commuter

Bikes: Redline Conquest, Cannonday, Specialized, RANS

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post